Act 1 Scene 3 (continued)

Recitativo

Anna-Maria Rodriguez: Oh Dios mio! Me pregunto … ¿Qué ha pasado con su…aparato?

[ O my God! I am wondering…what has happened to your…apparatus?]

Don Carlos: ¡Ay de mí! es un tema difícil…pero le aseguro señorita que todo está intacto.

[ Ah me! this is a difficult subject…but I assure you my lady that everything is intact.]

Anna-Maria Rodriguez: Oh, gracias al Cielo. Entonces, ¿Puedo preguntarle cuál es el problema exactamente?

[Oh thank Heaven. Then, may I ask you what is the problem exactly?]

Don Carlos: Al parecer, existe una deficiencia en un sentido neurológico en lugar de uno físico.

[Apparently there is a deficiency in a neurological sense rather than a physical one.]

Anna-Maria Rodriguez: ¿Qué?

[What?]

Don Carlos: Cuando era joven, y bajo la tutela del Maestro Iwasaki, he sufrido un duro régimen de entrenamiento mente-cuerpo — técnicas de meditación, recitación de mantras secretos, ejercicios de respiración, artes marciales, dietas especiales, etcétera…

[When I was young and under the tutelage of Master Iwasaki, I endured a harsh regime of mind-body training—meditation techniques, recitation of secret mantras, breathing exercises, martial arts, special diets, etc…]

Jumpin_Bean_and_the_Master

A todos los discípulos se les prohibió siquiera mirar a una mujer, y cualquier contacto físico estaba estrictamente fuera de discusión.

[ All the disciples were forbidden from even looking at a woman, and any physical contact was strictly out of the question. ]

Anna-Maria Rodriguez: Sin embargo Don Carlos, ya no está en el monasterio, y eso fue hace muchos años.

[However Don Carlos, you are no longer in the monastery, and that was many years ago. ]

Don Carlos: Sí, mi amor, pero los estudios han demostrado que un régimen de este tipo, cuando se sigue a una edad temprana, causa daño neurológico permanente en el estudiante, dejándolo incapaz de ciertas capacidades creativas en el futuro, de ahí mi actual predicamento.

[Yes my love, but studies have shown that such a regime, when followed at an early age, causes permanent neurological damage in the student, rendering him incapable of certain creative capacities later in life, thus my current predicament.]

Anna-Maria Rodriguez: Vamos a visitar a un médico. Podemos obtener una receta…

[Let’s go to a doctor. We can get a prescription..]

Don Carlos: Es inútil. Este tipo de cosas no van a funcionar en mi caso.

[It’s no use. Such things are not going to work in my case.]

Anna-Maria Rodriguez:  Conozco a una tienda donde podemos comprar algunas cosas que pueden inspirarte—libros, revistas, videos, dispositivos…

[I know a store where we can buy some things that might inspire you—books, magazines, videos, devices…]

Don Carlos: Anna-Maria! Oh Señor Dios, este es un tema más difícil! De nada sirve mi amor. No se deshaga de su felicidad por culpa mia. Búscate un hombre digno con quien pueda formar una familia y tener muchos hijos. Estoy preparado para soportar una vida dolorosa de soledad con Dios e Isabella como mis únicos compañeros.

[Anna-Maria! O Lord God, this is a most difficult subject! It is no use my love. Do not throw away your happiness on my account.  Find yourself a worthy man with whom you can start a family and bear many children.  I am prepared to endure the painful life of solitude having God and Isabella as my only companions.]

Anna-Maria Rodriguez:  No puede ser! Tu eres mi vida, tu eres mi alma, no puedo vivir sin ti…

[It cannot be! You are my life, you are my soul, I cannot live without you…]

Don Carlos: ¡Basta! Es la única forma, Anna-Maria. Me niego a cometer el terrible pecado de arruinar su vida causa mia! Esta conversación ha terminado! Tengo que prepararme a mi mismo y a Isabella para nuestro viaje a Santa Rosa. Buenas noches señorita.

[Enough! This is the only way, Anna-maria.  I refuse to commit the dreadful sin of ruining your life for my sake!  This conversation has ended!  I need to prepare myself and Isabella for our journey to Santa Rosa.  Good night my lady.]

.

Don Carlos’ Aria: “Vámonos Vámonos Isabella” (sung an to arrangement of Schumann’s “The Two Grenadiers” Op. 49/1)

{ Many thanks to Carlos Caicedo for his help with the Spanish text and the following excellent musicians who graciously donated their time for this project:

Virginia Knight piccolo
John Dimond oboe
Jaime Faucher horn
Robin Miller horn
Dan Schmidt trumpet
Adam Weiss viola

Violin and cello parts and vocal solo by Matthew C. Weiss. Remaining instruments provided by the Garritan Personal Orchestra sequenced using Finale 2012. }

.

Yo Tengo que prepararme, [I have to prepare myself,]

al pueblo debemos ir. [to the town we must go.]

Soy yo e Isabella, [It’s me and Isabella,]

solos tendremos que sufrir… [alone we will have to suffer…]

(spoken)

Anna-Maria, aunque tu digas que no puedes vivir sin mí, yo sé en mi corazón que yo no puedo vivir contigo.

[Anna-Maria, even though you say that you cannot live without me, I know in my heart that I cannot live with you.]

(resume singing)

Un hombre orgulloso, fuerte, alto, [A man proud, strong, tall,]

pero que no se pase de…inteligente, [but not too overly…intelligent,]

Le sugiero un hombre como ese. [I suggest a man like this.]

casesé con un hombre como ese. [Go marry a man like this.]

.

(gesturing towards Isabella)

Oh Vámonos, Vámonos Isabella, [Oh let’s go, let’s go Isabella,]

a comenzar el viaje! [to start the journey!]

Vámonos a Santa Rosa, [Let’s go to Santa Rosa,]

por cierto Dios nos protege. [for certainly God protects us.]

.

Para vencer a nuestro enemigo, [To vanquish our enemy,]

defender el buen nombre del Maestro, [defend the good name of the Master,]

Santa Rosa llora por un héroe! [Santa Rosa is weeping for a hero!]

.

Oh Vámonos, Vámonos Isabella! [Oh Let’s go, Let’s go Isabella!]

A comenzar el viaje! [To start the journey!]

.

=====================================================================

=====================================================================

Here is Schumann’s original song:

.

and the German lyrics with English translation:

.

1. Nach Frankreich zogen zwei Grenadier’,Die waren in Rußland gefangen.Und als sie kamen ins deutsche Quartier,Sie ließen die Köpfe hangen. 1. To France marched two grenadiers,Who were captured in Russia.And when they came into the German district,They hung their heads in shame.
2. Da hörten sie beide die traurige Mähr’:Daß Frankreich verloren gegangen.Besiegt und geschlagen das tapfere Heer,Und der Kaiser, der Kaiser gefangen. 2. There they learned the sad tale,That France was lost forever.Her valiant army beaten and smashed,And the Emperor, the Emperor captured.
3. Da weinten zusammen die Grenadier’Wohl ob der kläglichen Kunde.Der eine sprach: “Wie weh wird mir,Wie brennt meine alte Wunde!” 3. They wept together , the grenadiersHearing these pitiful tidings.One said, “Ah the agony,My wound is a burning fire!”
4. Der andre sprach: “Das Lied ist aus,Auch ich möcht’ mit dir sterben,Doch hab’ ich Weib und Kind zu Haus,Die ohne mich verderben.” 4. The other said, “This is the end,I should like to die with you,But I have a wife and child at home,They will perish without me.
5. “Was schert mich Weib, was schert mich Kind;Ich trage weit besser’ Verlangen;Laß sie betteln geh’n, wenn sie hungrig sind-Mein Kaiser, mein Kaiser gefangen! 5. But what do I care of wife, what do I care of child;Now I’m thinking of far higher things;Let them beg when they are hungry,My Emperor, my Emperor captured!
6. Gewähr’ mir Bruder eine Bitt’;Wenn ich jetzt sterben werde,So nimm meine Leiche nach Frankreich mit,Begrab’ mich in Frankreichs Erde. 6. Grant me brother, one request;If I die now,Take my body to France,Bury me in French soil.
7. Das Ehrenkreuz am roten BandSollst du aufs Herz mir legen;Die Flinte gib mir in die HandUnd gürt’ mir um den Degen. 7. The Cross of Honor on a red ribbonYou shall lay upon my heart;Put my musket in my handAnd buckle my sword on me.
8. So will ich liegen und horchen still’,Wie eine Schildwach’ im Grabe,Bis einst ich höre KanonengebrüllUnd wiehernder Rosse Getrabe. 8. And so I will lie quietly and listenLike a sentry in my grave,Until I hear the roar of cannonsAnd the neighing and thundering of horses.
9. Dann reitet mein Kaiser wohl über mein Grab,Viel Schwerter klirren und blitzen;Dann steig’ ich gewaffnet hervor aus dem Grab-Den Kaiser, den Kaiser zu schützen! 9. Then, my Emperor will ride over my grave,Many swords clashing and flashing;And fully armed I’ll rise up from the grave—The Emperor, to protect the Emperor!”

.

.

and here’s the clip from “Kung Fu” on which Jumping Bean (Grasshopper) and the Master’s relationship is based:

